MAC Referees Say Central Michigan’s ‘Hail Mary’ Play Should Not Have Counted

first_imgCentral Michigan's game winning touchdown against Oklahoma StateThe Central Michigan play that will be talked about for years to come should not have counted, per MAC referees.Saturday afternoon, Central Michigan knocked off Oklahoma State on one of the most unbelievable ‘Hail Mary’ plays in recent history. With the score 27-24 in favor of the Cowboys, the Chippewas had one untimed down at the end of the contest. Quarterback Cooper Rush hit Jesse Kroll, who lateraled the ball to Malik Fountain for a ridiculous game-winner.But perhaps the play should not have counted.Let’s back up for a moment. How did Central Michigan get the untimed down ahead of the final play?Facing a 4th-and-13 with four seconds to play, Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph, instead of finding a way to waste four seconds with his legs, threw a deep ball that was ruled by the referees as intentional grounding. After the officials met, they determined that because of the intentional grounding call and the turnover on downs, Central Michigan would be awarded one untimed play.Apparently that isn’t the right way to interpret the rule. According to MAC referee Tim O’Dey, the game should not have been extended. Oklahoma State should have won the contest after its final offensive play.Transcript of interview with referee in CMU-OSU game. 1/??— Ralph D. Russo (@ralphDrussoAP) September 10, 2016Here’s MAC official Tim O’Dey with the pool reporter after the ending of OSU/CMU:— Bryan Fischer (@BryanDFischer) September 10, 2016Here’s video of the final sequence. It includes both plays.The craziest thing of all? Apparently Oklahoma State can appeal to Central Michigan and ask the Chippewas to forfeit. That’d be something we haven’t seen before.How @BerryTramel explains it, from his understanding: #OKstate can appeal to CMU to reverse the outcome. Decision would be in their hands.— Kyle Fredrickson (@kylefredrickson) September 10, 2016Obviously, this is far from the end of the story here. We’ll keep you updated on the situation.Update: It’s been determined that the outcome of the game will not be changed.Bill Carollo confirms wrong call in CMU/OSU and also that outcome won’t be effected:— Paul Myerberg (@PaulMyerberg) September 10, 2016Central Michigan gets the win.last_img read more